In Search of a Beautiful Idea

OK. So I watch a video conference between the marvellous Jonathan Sack (Chief Rabbi) and the brilliant Richard Dawkins. Here if you’re interested. It’s a bit long.

To both of you thank you. At the time of writing I feel that gratitude most profoundly. Both remarkable teachers and decent, ethical and moral men.

I also would like to thank my daughter Emily, who just made me explain myself to myself.

That I must be able to explain an argument ‘clearly and cogently’ (Sacks) in order to be able to understand it. I must form the thought with clear logic and precise words. I must also value tradition and wisdom of the ages. I must remove the ‘self’ and replace that with the ‘other’.

From Dawkins I have delighted in his bravery and wit. His clarity of thinking. His refusal to back down from even the most sacred ground. His ability to apply reason to evidence. He has lead to me to most clearly sighted conclusion that there is no God. Not in any sense that bears a relation to the idea of God as described and defined by scripture.

So here I am.

What next?

I really want to know and I would like to open myself to suggestions….I’ve got some starting points.

I understand how ethics gives me the rule of law. The inviolable rule book? Hardly. Still it seems like a really decent attempt to codify human interactions and I would not be without that. It holds civilisation together!

The church is remarkable and one of my missions it to talk with my mother and find out what she thinks. I Know that religion has given her a beautiful framework, which includes a sense of the other as someone to be loved. My goodness what a profound idea! Love the other! However why does God get all the credit. He really ought to have spoken out before now in something less drenched and mired in symbolism.

I love to learn. I love to help others learn. I am a teacher.

I also love art and beauty.

I love ideas.

So ultimately that’s what I’m looking for. A beautiful idea. Got any?

I’m excited.

Leave a Reply

